Get in the Spirit of the New Year!

It’s officially that time of the year again. It’s officially that weird floating week that just kind of sits in between Christmas and New Years. This is usually when I’ve run out of things to keep me occupied during my school break, so, partially out of boredom and partially out of excitement, I throw myself into the spirit of the new year and come up with a list of resolutions, as so many people do.
The problem with that, though, is that I can never really think of anything to list. So, to remedy that I take to the internet and look at other people’s lists for inspiration. I already have my list, so I figured I would share it just in case there are any other people looking for inspiration like I always do.

  • Draw more, you’re losing your touch.
  • Learn to unapologetically say no.  It’s ok, you can do it.
  • Appreciate yourself.  If you don’t, no one will.
  • Don’t give a shit about what others think about you.  Other people are great and all, but at the end of the day it’s only going to matter what you think about you.
  • Try to be more approachable.  I know you don’t mean to, but you tend to scare strangers.
  • Talk to people more.  You feel bad that you think you’re bad at it and don’t do it, so change it.
  • Have more solo dance parties in your room.  Practice makes perfect.
  • Have more public dance parties.  Your solo dance parties have only showed you that you can’t dance.  You should share that with the rest of the world so that they know, too.
  • Take a risk or two.  It could hurt, but it could also be so worth it.
  • Stop going on your phone when you’re bored or uncomfortable.  Appreciate those awkward moments because they’re always hilarious when you remember them later.
  • Learn to stand up for yourself more.  People should care about what you have to say, so show them.
  • Don’t fear the unknown.  Flip it off and keep moving.
  • Pay attention to your body language.  This has a lot to do with that whole unapproachable, scaring strangers and not talking to them thing.
  • Go on adventures, even little ones.  Explore a new building on campus or take that 30 minute walk to the Chinese buffet across town.  It would be even more fun if you brought your friends.
  • Learn to vent without complaining.  You know you tend to complain, even if you don’t mean to.  It’s not attractive and people don’t like to listen to it.  There’s a difference between the two.
  • Work on your physical appearance and on getting a more positive body image.  College has been a huge confidence boost in that department, but you still have bad days and you shouldn’t have to.  I know you’re self conscious about putting yourself out there, but what’s on the inside should be on the outside, too.  You owe that much to yourself.
  • Get back into your blog.  You really loved it, but you let it slip.  Get on that.

So, those are my resolutions for the year.  What are some of yours?

~Sara

About somewhatsara

Hello, internet friends! My name is Sara and I am a college freshman. Books are my best friends and my computer is the reason I don’t go outside. I am majoring in English and double minoring in Writing and Game Studies and Design, so maybe you’ll be playing one of my games someday. I never go anywhere without some type of music and I draw when I’m bored, although not very well.

Leave a Reply

