Single is the New Black

You know what? Being a teenage girl is hard. Don’t let anyone tell you different, because they’re lying to you. Imagine Sharknado, but with boys, makeup, and the most angst you’ll ever feel. Ever.

I could go on all day about the unrealistic beauty standards, the constant pursuit of “cool” culture, and the emotional tug-o-war played with other people, but today I’m going to talk about relationships.

I know. Take relationship advice from the perpetually single girl? How does that even begin to sound like a good idea? Well, friends, it’s a good idea because I’m not going to talk about relationships. I’m going to talk about lacking them.

While being single is basically the bane of every teenager’s existence, the grass over here’s pretty green given all the extra time we have to garden it. Seriously, you’d be surprised at how much free time you have when you don’t have to worry about stuff like that. You can set your life up pretty well by paying more attention to your school work, plus it’s way less stressful. You don’t have to worry about what’s too far and what isn’t. Screw not eating that tuna sandwich because you’re going on a date later, you eat what you want. It’s pretty sweet.

I mean, don’t get me wrong, being single has its downfalls. Do I like seeing my friends with their serious boyfriends, while I’ve never even gone on one date? Heck no. Do I like being almost eighteen and not having ever legitimately danced with someone? Definitely not. It can be super lonely and boring, but when I’m feeling down I just tell myself, “Hey, you know what? Screw that crap. Screw feeling bad about myself just because other people aren’t falling all over me. I’m awesome anyway.”

I wish everyone would just calm down about the whole self-pitying single thing. I mean, come on. We’re only teenagers! We have our whole lives ahead of us to get our hearts broken, so why would you want to rush it?

If I sound corny and optimistic, too bad because it’s the truth. The day we stop worrying about why other people don’t like us and start liking ourselves instead is the day that we’ll find what we want.

~Sara

About somewhatsara

Hello, internet friends! My name is Sara and I am a college freshman. Books are my best friends and my computer is the reason I don’t go outside. I am majoring in English and double minoring in Writing and Game Studies and Design, so maybe you’ll be playing one of my games someday. I never go anywhere without some type of music and I draw when I’m bored, although not very well.

Leave a Reply

