Weird Coincidences

So, I’m back! The past month has been a whirlwind ball of fun, stress, and beyond awesome people, but I’m back now and in one piece, which is a miracle. I have air conditioning again, which is amazing, and I can sleep in my own bed now, which I’ve dearly missed. I also have fresh stories and experiences to share, so I’m gonna go ahead and do that now.

I think it’s weird how life is always speckled with odd coincidences and correlations. Nice, but weird. This past month at Bridge Builders has been nothing but that. I was forced to be a leader in the same activities I had led during my high school conferences, got the same “Encourage Me” card in the guess-what-reaction-is-on-your-forehead game that I got my senior conference. “Firework” by Katy Perry surfaced again.

That song specifically holds a special meaning for me. During my Junior Conference it was the first and only song my teammates got me to dance to at the end of conference dance. This year, a whole different team got me to dance and sing to it at a karaoke bar. I never, and I mean never dance or sing in front of people, so that’s kind of a big deal. I don’t know, it’s kind of hard for me to describe what it means to me. I guess it’s sort of my life/friendship defining, this-is-your-moment-now-dance-your-way-to-that-next-level anthem. Or it has been anyway. That moment, with everyone singing and dancing along with me, is honestly the best moment of my entire life. And Trip and Kani, I love you two so much for convincing me and for coming up there with me to give me the courage to do it. You two are seriously the best.

I don’t know what all the coincidences mean. Maybe they don’t have any meaning at all. I do know, however, that in the past month I’ve gained a new family. I grew closer to those people in the first week than I am with some people that I’ve known for years. I’ve worked with them, sweated, cried, laughed, had various butts in my face. We clicked immediately and that just helped us become closer. I can say very easily that I love each and every one of them. I will always have their backs and I know they’ll have mine. We’re a family.

~Sara

About somewhatsara

Hello, internet friends! My name is Sara and I am a college freshman. Books are my best friends and my computer is the reason I don’t go outside. I am majoring in English and double minoring in Writing and Game Studies and Design, so maybe you’ll be playing one of my games someday. I never go anywhere without some type of music and I draw when I’m bored, although not very well.

4 thoughts on “Weird Coincidences

  1. Sara, I LOVE YOU SOOOOO MUCH! I’m so happy that we were both on staff this year. You have such a phenomenal spirit! You truly are a FIREWORK and I am so blessed to know ya, girlie!!!

    • I LOVE YOU SOOOOO MUCH, TOO! I wish so badly that conference didn’t have to end or that we could do it all year long. Having the staff as my actual coworkers would be the coolest thing imaginable and I would have the best job in the world.

  2. Okay I don’t have one of these but that is such an incredible post. I had no idea that some of the things that resurfaced had so much meaning for you! So very cool. And so very happy we got to serve these students together. I hope they all end up like you!

Leave a Reply

