I guess I’m an “Adult” :/

It still feels weird to think that I won’t be going back to high school when the summer’s over. It’s going to feel even weirder when my sister has to get up in the morning to go and I’ll get to sleep in and not worry about sending in an excuse for being absent.

And I use “weird” a lot, but it’s really the best way to describe the feeling. Right now I’m in that transition between graduation and the start of the new school year where I’m still trying to comprehend that I’m now an “adult”.

Who decided to give me that title? I’m not ready for that! I still can’t legally drive by myself. I still have my parents buy my food. I still watch Veggie Tales and sleep with stuffed animals. I shouldn’t be an adult.

But I am and now I have to deal with that. I mean, I don’t have to go out right away and start handling mortages and a job and piles of bills. I have college to deal with before that, thank God. But I’ll have to deal with it eventually and that’s weird to think of.

I’m transitioning well, though. At least, I think I am. Little things here and there are helping to make me feel a little more grown up. I’ve been hanging out with my friends more lately and getting to come home late, which is pretty sweet. I’ve been driving more, I bought some stuff by myself with some money I got for graduation, I have a lanyard now with some keys on it. Don’t knock the power of a lanyard, those things work miracles.

Whether or not I feel like I should be considered an adult, I’m getting there regardless. I mean, just look at the stuff I’m doing now. I am an adult. I’m adulting all over the place. I know there’s more to being an adult than just buying your own stuff and being able to come home late, but right now I’m in the super early stages and that’s pretty much what it consists of. It’s the little things that are starting to get to me and are easing me into this, and it’s really not all that bad.

~Sara

About somewhatsara

Hello, internet friends! My name is Sara and I am a college freshman. Books are my best friends and my computer is the reason I don’t go outside. I am majoring in English and double minoring in Writing and Game Studies and Design, so maybe you’ll be playing one of my games someday. I never go anywhere without some type of music and I draw when I’m bored, although not very well.

Leave a Reply

