Bridge Builders :'(

Guys, life’s coming at me quick. No joke. It’s hard enough to comprehend that my high school graduation is in fourteen days, but tonight I’ve reached one of the last milestones of my teenage career.

Today, I graduated from the Bridge Builders of Alabama program, something I can honestly say has been one of the best experiences of my life. For anyone that doesn’t know, Bridge Builders is a leadership program where high school students from all over the state come together to learn how to be good leaders and respectful, helpful citizens. It was totally awesome.

I went to two week-long conferences–one the summer of my Junior year, and one my Senior year–and hung out with some seriously cool people. The facilitators were great, staying in college dorms for a week was even cooler, and the friends I made were the best of all. I bonded with these people and became closer to them in 5 days than I am with students I’ve been going to school with for four years. I told them things I haven’t even told my parents or my closest friends.

On top of that, we did tons of community service projects all over the state during the two years I was a member. Let me tell you, helping somebody out for nothing in return is probably the best feeling ever. And I got to do it for two years, lucky me.

But really, to everyone that helped me get and stay involved in this program, thank you. I mean it, really I do. Thank you vistas, facillitators, fellow Bridge Builders, Dream Team members, and full-time staff. Thanks for driving me to everything I had to do since I couldn’t do it myself, Mom and Dad. I appreciate everything you’ve done for me.

I’m really sad that I’m not going to be able to be a part of this anymore, but I’m so glad that I had the opportunity. If anyone that’s reading this has the chance to be a part of this program, definitely do it. It’ll change your life, I guarantee it.

~Sara

 

Bridge Builders graduation cap and certificate

About somewhatsara

Hello, internet friends! My name is Sara and I am a college freshman. Books are my best friends and my computer is the reason I don’t go outside. I am majoring in English and double minoring in Writing and Game Studies and Design, so maybe you’ll be playing one of my games someday. I never go anywhere without some type of music and I draw when I’m bored, although not very well.

2 thoughts on “Bridge Builders :'(

  1. Congrats on finishing your leadership program, you’ll be so ready to use the skills you’ve learned in college and beyond. Hope your high school graduation is special–cherish the memories.

    • Thank you! It really was a great experience. I’m lucky enough to be able to go back this summer, but as a staff member instead of a student. I’m so excited to have the chance to be able to help someone else have as good of an experience as I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

